Learn the basics of collaboration in Valsight.
Valsight allows to collaborate during the creation of scenarios: multiple users can work in their individual workspaces to create assumptions that can later be combined.
Before using these features: make a plan on how your workflow looks, and plan ahead.
Include a Org-Hierarchy in your data model. This hierarchy will allow you to define security concepts on top, e.g. limit access to certain data points.
Before the implementation of the workflow in Valsight, define the process for your collaborators.
Download as PDF: 2017-06-20-collaboration-process.pdf
Example Workflow (download the PDF to open a full page view)
Typical Scenario "One Workspace per Unit"
Create one workspace for the smallest unit for which you want to create scenarios. Limit each workspace to its respective unit by adding workspace filters and allow collaborators to access the workspace with limited rights.
Working with the same Workspace
Typically, one workspace entails all the work and analysis done for one model. However, it is important to note that no two users can simultaneously work in one workspace, as this could create problems when tracking and managing changes. What you can do to avoid idle time, is that a user can copy the master workspace and then work in his copy. Whatever charts he then creates in his copy, he can easily save as a template, which can then eventually be added to the master workspace in order to join the conducted work. This process can be seen as a lateral sharing between team members for example.
Sharing Scenarios in Workspaces across Units
As mentioned above, this workspace can be shared with multiple users from different units. Then, the created scenarios within each workspace can be shared with other workspaces in order to improve collaboration. This is why it is important to determine a workflow beforehand. The workflow determines which unit shares their scenarios with which other workspace. Then, each collaborator creates scenarios individually and possibly in parallel in their respective workspace. Once done, a version of the scenarios within the workspaces can be shared and consumed in the next workspace again following the hierarchy defined in the workflow.
If you want to learn more about how scenarios are shared, have a look at the Sharing Scenarios article.