On this page you'll find the meaning of the different Error, Warning and Info Messages when Uploading Data to Valsight.
|Table is still in use|
|Column is still in use|
|This error appears when the dimensions or level values in Valsight don't match with the ones in the uploaded Excel document. Edit the Dimensions & Hierarchies to match your base data to fix the issue.|
The Excel document containing our base data is referencing the level value 'Service 3' in line 7 and 13.
When we try to upload our base data we get the error 'Invalid Value'. The data upload wizard also shows us which values are affected. Here we can see that lines 7 and 13 in the column 'Product' are affected.
If we check inside of the Dimension Management we'll see that the level value 'Service 3' is missing. Once we add the value the upload will work as intended.
'Invalid values' also appears, when whole Dimensions or Hierarchies are missing. In addition to that, it appears when Hierarchies aren't set up correctly (e.g. 'ProductGroup' containing the values for Products and vice versa).
|This error appears if the uploaded Excel documents contains cells without a value in them. Fill in all missing values in the document to fix the error.|
Our Excel document is missing two values in the columns "TotalRevenue" and "BilledDays".
Once we upload the file we receive the error "Empty Cell" along with the position it is in. Fill in the missing values to resolve the error.
Table is still in use
|This error appears when a newly uploaded Excel document does not contain worksheets that are currently being referenced in our model. To resolve this you can either add the required worksheets to the new Excel document or remove the reference to the old worksheets inside of the model.|
Our current document 'Base data.xlsx' contains the following worksheets:
All of these worksheets are being referenced in multiple places inside our model. For example in the Base Data submodel.
Our new data source only contains the following worksheets:
If we try to upload this document the data upload wizard will show the error 'table is still in use'. To fix this we can either copy the worksheets from the old into the new Excel document or remove all references to the old worksheets inside our model.
Make sure to also add the contents of a worksheet when you are adding missing worksheets to your new Excel document. Otherwise the error will persist.
Column is still in use
|Similarly to Table is still in use this error appears when a column that is referenced inside the model isn't part of the new Excel document. To resolve this you can either add the required columns to the new Excel document or remove the reference to the old columns inside of the model.|
Our new file does not contain the column 'Volume' which is referenced in our submodel.
If we try to upload it the error 'column still in use' will appear. To resolve it, we can either add 'Volume' back to our file or remove the reference from the sub model.
You will receive this error if your Excel document contains a column two or more times. Remove the redundant columns to fix the error.
Our new data source contains the column "Billed Days" twice.
When we try to upload said data source, we'll receive the error "Duplicate column". The data upload wizard also shows which sheet and column is affected. Just delete the highlighted, redundant column and you are good to go.
|This warning appears if your Excel document contains a row multiple times. Discard the redundant rows to remove it.|
Our Excel file contains the last row twice.
When we upload the file we'll get the warning "Duplicate Rows" as well as the information which rows are the duplicated ones.
Even though you can still upload an Excel file with duplicate rows, we advice against it since it might lead to unintended consequences while building your model.
|This message appears if new rows were added to your data source. It also shows you, which rows were added specifically.|
We added a new row (row 5) into our Excel file.
Once we upload our new file the data upload wizard will show us which rows were added.
|This message appears if rows were deleted from your data source. It also shows you, which rows were deleted specifically.|
We now deleted the previously added row 5 from our Excel file.
Once we upload the file the data upload wizard will show us which rows were deleted.
|This message appears when values in your newly uploaded Excel file change compared to the existing data source. It also shows you which values have changed specifically.|
We changed the values in the rows 27, 28 and 29 of our Excel file.
Once we upload the file the data upload wizard will show us which rows were modified.